ZZ Top This!

Hey Everyone! Have you enjoyed the Celebrate Virginia Live concert series so far? It has been a wild ride and I don’t mean just the turns I have taken riding the bull.

I have enjoyed everyone who has performed the first part of the season:

  • Lynyrd Skynyrd and Willie Nelson had songs I didn’t even know I knew. Now I walk around singing, “Mamma’s Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys” and hold up my iPhone lighter app to “Free Bird”.
  • Seeing my friends The Band Perry again made my summer. They are full of life and energy and just make everyone in the crowd feel like family. It was great that so many of my friends and neighbors, including my teacher came out for the show. I have loved meeting everyone that stops by to say hi to the Round Up Crew.
  • I have heard my parents play ZZ Top and 3 Doors Down and on their iPods, but seeing them live was amazing. I must say those beards are pretty cool up close. I had fun bringing my dad and brother to the show and they were really impressed with Gretchen Wilson’s ability to rock out.
  • Colt Ford and Lauren Alaina really know how to put on a great show. I had fun Tweeting with Colt encouraging him to Ride the Bull. Watching Lauren rise from American Idol to touring proves Dreams Really Do Come True.

I love having all these artists playing in our back yard. Nothing beats my 10-minute ride to Job.com Pavilion, great food (Love my Beach Fries, Frozen Ice and pizza), and friendly environment. I am having the best time representing Project 324. All the money raised when you ride the bull or throw a ball at the dunk tank is helping to keep the performing arts in our community. I dream of being on stage someday, and that is why having access to classes to learn your trade is important. A lot of work goes into making the shows a success. Almost everyone you see working the concerts is a volunteer. Volunteering is important. You shouldn’t wait till you are older to make a difference. Have a voice and make a difference in the lives around you.

The next half of the concert series is going to be exciting. I hope everyone will spread the word and join me at Celebrate Virginia Live this month. I can’t believe we are going to see Justin Moore, Josh Thompson, Bruce Hornsby, Darius Rucker, Daughtry, and my dad’s favorite Foreigner. Make sure you stop by the Thunder 104.5 tent and spin the prize wheel and then head on over and take a ride on the bull and dunk a Round Up Crew member. We love taking photos with the fans, because music means memories. Come make a memory with us.

All the Best ~

Megs

