Darius Rucker Rocked the ‘Burg!

WOW! It has been a busy weekend. I really needed yesterday to rest after a spectacular Friday night with Darius Rucker and to prepare for Daughtry tonight.

Friday was blazing hot when I arrived at Celebrate Virginia Live. I volunteered to take the first shift in the dunk tank. The water felt amazing and I was begging for people to dunk me. The first person to succeed was my brother. I think he actually enjoyed dunking his little sister. After the dunk tank it was time to promote the CVL Project 324 T-Shirts onstage with my friends from Thunder 104.5. All proceeds will support underfunded music and performing arts programs in our local community. You never know you just might help put a future artist on stage someday.

The highlight of my evening was meeting Darius and talking about my work with Children’s Hospital of Richmond. He is such a sweet family man. When he arrived in Fredericksburg it was “Family Day”. He was out visiting our local establishments with his family. I had fun backstage twirling glow sticks with his kids as we listened to his awesome performance.

It was great to hear Darius sing songs from his days playing with “Hootie and the Blow Fish”. He spent a lot of time walking back and forth on stage making sure to say hi to everyone who came out to spend the evening with him. When the crowd starts singing along you cannot believe how loud it sounds from the stage. The two songs that brought down the house where “Hold My Hand” and when he performed “Purple Rain” by Prince. While I didn’t get to hear my favorite song, “If I Had Wings”, it was another night I will not forget.

Thursday night I met fans that traveled from Ohio and New York to spend the weekend at Celebrate Virginia Live. I started asking people if they were local. I was happy to hear people are traveling from DC, Northern Virginia, Western Virginia, Virginia Beach and North Carolina to see our concerts. They can’t believe we have such big names coming to Fredericksburg. They love the location, price of tickets, and accessibility.

We only have two concerts left in the series. Work has already started in preparation for next year. Make sure you list your recommendation on the Celebrate Virginia Live Facebook site.

I will see you at the show~

Megs

