February was HEART month..and my birthday :)

Image

Last month was a great month. Not only was it my birthday, it was also “Heart Month”. My grandma is a heart surgery survivor and it is important for everyone to be heart healthy.

The week of February 7th-14th is Congenital Heart Awareness Week. Congenital heart defects are America’s and every country’s #1 birth defect. Nearly one of every 100 babies is born with a CHD. While I am a heart survivor with lasting side effects, others have not been as lucky. That is why I make it my mission to bring awareness to all children facing health challenges.

I was also happy to see the legislation for Gwyneth’s Law passed. This story hit very close to my heart. Gwyn was a middle school kid just like me. She had a congenital heart defect that was being monitored. Last summer Gwyn collapsed while playing outside at school. CPR could have saved her life. She did not receive medical attention until the rescue squad arrived. She suffered a devastating brain injury and died six weeks later. Her parents have worked to create a Gwyneth’s Law that would require teachers to received CPR training in school. My mom was shocked this was not already the law.

I hope everyone will make an effort to either become CPR certified or trained. You could save someone’s life someday.

Love, Megs ♥

Heart Surgery Survivor

Heart Surgery Survivor

