She is Strong Enough to make it look so EASY………

Image

Can I tell you how much I love researching and learning about the artists who are going to perform at Celebrate Virginia Live. Last year I would talk to my mom or dad and ask them to tell me what they knew about the different artists. This year I thought it would be more fun to do the research.

It amazes me what I find. Sheryl Crow was born in February. Hey! I was born in February. She is almost a heart baby like me, minus the heart surgery. She has acted and was athlete and a musician in high school. As my dad would say, “Why choose”. She was a backup singer for Michel Jackson. She wrote jingles for commercials. She loves anything with a drum beat. That is my secret obsession. I want to learn to play the drums. Well I guess it isn’t a secret anymore J

The more I read the more I realized music is a passion for Sheryl Crow, but so is her generosity. She is a mom, a breast cancer survivor, singer, activist, and a song writer. She has been involved in the Scleroderma Research Foundation since the 90s and participates in the Wounded Warriors Project. She was shocked when she found out she had breast cancer because she didn’t have a family history. Like me she has learned that medical problems do not discriminate. I think music and songs are a wonderful way to show how you are feeling. It is amazing how much emotion can go into them. I am not a song writer but I do understand as an actress.

As I get older I am required to have more mature monologues. I have this one that my mom loves to hear me perform because it is very intense, but it is very hard for me to perform. It is a scene from “My Sisters Keeper”.

I think it is hard because it hits to close to home. My brother has had to watch me most of my life go back and forth between doctors. While I am blessed I don’t require any of his body parts to survive, I know that watching me grow up with challenges has been hard. Those feelings come out in that monologue. That is why I admire artists who can put their life events into their songs and really bring out the creative emotion.

On July 12th, many will come out to listen to Sheryl Crow play those awesome award winning songs.  I am looking forward hearing her life experiences through her music.

Love,

Megs

“Every child is an artist, the problem is staying an artist when you grow up” – Pablo Picasso

