Healing Through Music…

hank_email

I find it very exciting waiting to see what artists will be coming to Celebrate Virginia Live. I am always offering up “my” choices to the team. I also know a ton of things must happen behind the scenes to bring an artist to Fredericksburg.

A few weeks ago when Hank William Jr. was announced I started my research. I know I had heard the name, but I wasn’t exactly sure I knew who he was. Then my mom said, “He sang ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL the Sunday night theme”. Yes, she actually tried to sound like the theme song. I looked at her with the “ok” look. Then my brother chimed in and said, “Megan, he sings Family Tradition”. Well why didn’t they say that first. I know that song.  The more I researched and heard his music, the more inspired I became to write my post.

I love music. I love hearing all genres. I also love the way music makes me feel. Music has played a big part in my life. Each step of my medical journey different songs speak to me. Mom calls them my “theme songs”. Music has a big influence on my life. The more I read about the artist I find they also had life stories that influence who they are, where they have been, and where they are going.

When Hank Williams Jr. was 26 his life was turned upside down when he was seriously injured in a mountain climbing accident. Two years and nine major surgeries later, Hank Williams Jr. emerged with a new look consisting of a full beard, cowboy hat, and dark glasses.

I could really identify with what it feels like to recover from a medical obstacle. I spent three years recovering from my stroke. Sometimes it seems like you just want to give up. Hank Williams Jr. could have decided to just fade away, but he took the time to heal and came back stronger proving a “Country Boy Can Survive”.

I hope you will come out and join us July 20th as we welcome Hank Williams Jr. to Celebrate Virginia Live. Tickets are available online at Legends Sports Grille.

Love.

Megs

“If I were not a physicist, I would probably be a musician. I often think in music. I live my daydreams in music. I see my life in terms of music.”

― Albert Einstein

