Look who is coming the the ‘burg – Trace Adkins

Image

I am looking forward to the Trace Adkins concert tomorrow night. The first time I heard “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk” I just giggled.That song makes me want to dance. When my Pop Pop in Florida heard Trace was coming to Celebrate Virginia Live he was sad he could not be here. He is a HUGE fan. Not only does he love his music he enjoyed watching him on The Celebrity Apprentice. My Pop can no longer travel, but loves hearing about all my charity work and seeing the pictures.

I am dedicating this concert and blog post to him.

A year and half ago my Pop suffered a series of strokes and has had a long recovery. He is a fighter and that is where I get a lot of my determination. Both my grandma and pop have faced serious medical challenges. When I heard Trace’s new song ‘If The Sun Comes Up” from his new album Love Will, I cried. I could picture my grandma and pop saying those words to me. It is amazing how much a song can move you.

Last year when my brother was graduating high school, my mom must have listened to “You’re Gonna Miss This” and “Then They Do” a thousand times by Trace Adkins. It is because of her I have learned to listen and love all types of music.

In the song “If The Sun Comes Up” there is a line “Please find something you can put your heart into”. That line says it all. When you go through something traumatic in your life it changes you. Through my medical journey I found I had a voice to make a difference. I love bringing awareness to charities that speak to me. Trace Adkins feels the same way about the American Red Cross. When he lost his home to a fire, they were there for his family. He raised over $600,000 for the American Red Cross on the Celebrity Apprentice. This is why “Ladies Love Country Boys”.

I will see you tomorrow at Celebrate Virginia Live. Gates open at 5:30pm. I will be onstage to open the show with my friends from Thunder 104.5, Melanie Skahen singing the National Anthem and the Young Marines Color Guard. Cody Purvis will take the stage at 6:00pm. Make sure you bring a friend, neighbor, or family member. Tickets are available online or at Legends.

Love,

Megs

“Whether on stage, over the airwaves, or on film – Project 324 is about bringing the arts and the community together”

