Rock My ‘Burg

Image

Back in March I made my first post of the 2013 Celebrate Virginia Live concert series. I announced how exciting it was going to be to have Bret Michaels join us here in Fredericksburg. I never realized how excited my MOM would be for Bret Michaels to be here in Fredericksburg. I know Bret from Rock My RV. On my “Bucket List” one of my dreams is to vacation out West on a tricked out RV. It is my dad’s dream too.

Well my mom remembers Bret from her teenage years. Apparently she has not forgotten she never got to see Poison in concert in 1987. I told her if I had a DeLorean I would take her “Back to the Future”. For months she has been exposing me to the music of her generation. I am just hoping she does not show up tomorrow night with teased up hair and fluorescent clothing. You should see some of those pictures from the 80s…WOW!

I really like Bret Michaels the artist and the person. He is very charitable. He raises awareness for pets and people. If you have not had a chance to check out his “Life Rocks Foundation” please take the time and follow the link. Every summer I attend a medical camp in Charlottesville, VA called Camp Holiday Trails. Many of my friends at camp have diabetes. This camp is a place for us to go for two weeks to be with a group of people who know what it is like to take medication everyday. For two weeks we can be ourselves and are not defined by our challenges. Through Bret’s foundation he sends kids with diabetes to camps like mine. His Foundation also supports kids with cancer, Wounded Warriors, and pet charities.

I tried to convince my parents to buy an old RV and see if we could get Bret to Rock it while he was here, but that didn’t happen. I don’t have any tattoos, but maybe we can compare heart surgery scars.

I hope you all will come on out and enjoy a night of music in the ‘burg. The weather will be great and the food is always so good. Bring your kids, your neighbors kids, friends of your kids….just grab a blanket and some chairs and make it a fun family night. Tickets are available on line and at the doors. Gates open at 6:00pm.

See you at the show…

Megs

